Low Calorie Angel Food Cupcake Dessert

recipe1header

CHEAP EASY HEALTHY EATS
I am a Pinterest fiend by nature – anything that allows me to organize my brain in awesome little pictures that connect to even greater information is a win – and I have a board devoted to cheap, easy, healthy eats. Hey, I try to inspire the good stuff, even though I tend to fall back on greasy, cheesy tacos and enchiladas, which are my kryptonite.

Sometimes these healthy recipes turn out to be awesome, and sometimes they make me stand in the middle of my kitchen and laugh at what I’ve made.

So I thought, hey, maybe others could benefit from my experiments with these so-called cheap, easy, healthy recipes. I am specifically going to focus on recipes that meet the above three qualities – but I am going to chase after those that claim to be amazing, even though they are only 25 calories each! Shall we test the theory that if it sounds too good to be true, it generally is?

Our first contender actually looks really decent – they are regular-sized cupcakes, and if you enjoy angel food cake, this one’s for you (even if you don’t like it, but you are trying to calorie-count in order to lose weight, you should reconsider – especially if you can get the toppings just right!)

ANGEL FOOD CUPCAKES – 60 CALORIES EACH
Hop over to Eating on a Dime for this quick recipe and then hop back for loads of pictures, cost analysis and my final opinion.

The run-down:

CHEAP
Strawberries are in season right now, so YAY! I got a 1-lb container for $0.88, and they look amazing. Considering these are just a topper, I’ll have plenty left over for work snacks (bonus!).

I spent $6.46 total, but I had tons of leftover strawberries and cool whip, and was able to make 40 cupcakes. That’s $0.16 per cupcake, including the unused items, and these babies will last me and my kiddo all week.

If you wanted to go cheaper, you could leave out the cupcake liners (I didn’t have any in the pantry and had to buy some) and coat your pans with cooking spray or oil. Angel food cake is so delicate that I didn’t want to risk destroying the cupcakes in my attempt to remove them from the pan’s clutches, so I sprang for the extra $1.50. I also didn’t shop around for the angel food cake mix and bought a box for $2.99 – I’m sure you can find it cheaper!

EASY
I used a Betty Crocker box of cake mix, but you could make your own angel food batter if you wanted. For me, this is supposed to be easy, so just add water sounds good to me!

Four ingredients, 3 steps, 5 minutes prep and 8 minutes cook time? I’d call that EASY.

HEALTHY
So like I said, this recipe boasts under 60 calories per cupcake, which caught my eye. For a dessert, I’d say that’s a win! If these bad boys turn out half as good as they looked in the photo, I’ll have to try out her 80 calorie chocolate cupcakes, too!

RECIPE IN ACTION
So first things first, the items:

recipe1ingred

Before I even preheated the oven, I cut up my strawberries into quarters and put them in a bowl with a little bit of water mixed with a bit of coconut sugar. I covered the bowl and put it in the fridge to sit awhile. You don’t have to do this, but it gives the strawberries an extra bit of sweetness.

recipe1straw

The cake mix doesn’t look like much, but when you add water it practically doubles in size!

recipe1mix      recipe1mixed

I filled my cupcake liners and popped them in the oven for the designated time, rotating the trays halfway through.

recipe1filled

As you can see, they shrank once they cooked and cooled –

recipe1baked

So, I’ve got like 40 cupcakes now, and I’m the only one here, hmmm. I ate three right off the bat. They are so light and fluffy, with just the right amount of sweetness from the strawberries and cool whip – and each one takes just two bites to devour.

recipe1mecupcake

DECISION?

A total winner. I’d make these the next time I have a gathering for sure. Eating on a Dime has tons of content, and I totally suggest heading over there for other great ideas!

One thought on “Low Calorie Angel Food Cupcake Dessert

Add yours

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

Up ↑

