My Geeky Thoughts, Edition One

1. Monday

blogthoughts1shockedchibiSo this was my first full week back at work after being off for 6 business days. I was so geared up for working on my personal projects that I did not want to go to work at all. Unfortunately, we keep losing people in my office, which puts more work on the people who haven’t left yet, and… every single day I came home exhausted this week. I will say this, though – I am usually that person who wants to do a good job no matter what I’m doing (where everything needs to be just so because that’s the best way, and why would it be done any other way?) and so my anxiety is generally higher due to CARING so much. By Tuesday I had made the behemoth mental shift away from that, and I now feel like a normal person. Who needs medication? Just push me too far and I detach, apparently. I am now able to go into the office, tell myself I DON’T CARE everytime something stupid, frustrating or awful happens, and get my work done. Suffice it to say, I am also looking for new opportunities, just like everyone else in my office.

(Isn’t that such a cute chibi? Check it out at dokidokimaddy.deviantart.com!)

2. Gaming

blogthoughts1eso

I haven’t played a video game (outside of playing here and there with my son; I’m talking about playing for ME here) since I finished my second playthrough of Dragon Age Inquisition back at the beginning of the year. A friend of mine at work was saying she was going home and letting off steam by playing Elder Scrolls Online with her hubby (yes, they have two Xbox Ones, lol). All her talk about the game peaked my interest, and on Friday night I went out and bought it. It’s funny because this is my first foray into playing an online multiplayer game. Usually I like being a lone wolf, battling through my RPG alone. Even with Dragon Age, which is one of my absolute favorite series, I avoided the multiplayer portion completely. It was very difficult to get used to running around the world map and seeing all of these other players – some doing the exact same quest that I was doing. It takes a lot of effort at first to decide who’s a baddie that I need to kill and who’s just playing their own game. I haven’t decided if I like it yet. I know what my friend would say: “It’s so much more fun if you play in a group!” Meh. We’ll see. I don’t know if anyone wants to be subjected to my playing style, hahaha. It does make for a good release from the stress of work, so I’ll keep it up for a bit and see how it goes.

The game does have some amazing voice actors in it, and I love recognizing them as I’m playing through:
blogthoughts1eso1

3. Crafting

crosshobbit1

After looking up so many geeky crafts in order to get some ideas for this blog, I decided that I needed to make something for my friend for her birthday. There’s this LOTR cross-stitch that is for sale on Etsy, and there is no pattern to be found. I figured I could just examine the photo and make it up on my own. I went to Joann’s and bought DMC floss in colors I thought would work well, based on the photo (I was at the store, squinting at my phone in my attempt to color-match. Not the greatest.) The lettering was super easy. The stones surrounding the door? OH MY GOD. Trying to get the shading and sizing right is a nightmare. I really have to stop just “winging it” and actually do things that have directions. Directions are so much easier to deal with than trying to make it up as you go. Ugh. I thought I totally messed up today, and everything was looking wrong, so I set it aside and stepped away thinking all my work this weekend (2.5 hours Friday night, 5 hours Saturday and 5 hours on Sunday) had been for nothing. Talk about frustration. Just now I laid it out on the couch and stepped back to look at it, and decided that it can totally work after all. I just need it done by Friday, haha. I’ll post a pic when it’s complete, if only to satisfy my own blood, sweat and tears on this freaking thing.

(On a side note, this is the first time I’ve cross-stitched in a very, very long time, and it was extremely cathartic to sit on the couch and listen to music while I counted stitches. I don’t know what it is – something about the fluidity of the colors combined with mathematics? It is an excellent exercise in relaxation – if you don’t mess up.)

4. Writing

blogthoughts1writing

I’ve been practicing my drawing skills so much in preparation for the graphic novel I’m working on that I haven’t done any writing. On Saturday I was able to decompress enough from the week that scenes were starting to come to mind for a story I had shelved a few months ago. There is nothing like being able to hop back into a story as if you never left it – FEELS SO GOOD. I do want to have a feature on here that shows snapshots of what I’m working on creatively, but I’m just not sure how that is going to play out yet.

5. Movie of the Week

blogthoughts1movie

Someone at work gave me a code for a free Red Box movie, so I decided I wanted to make use of it this weekend because it was FREE. I’ve stayed away from Red Box ever since I got Hulu Plus and Netflix because there is so much variety right there on my TV screen that I haven’t felt a need to make a trip to rent the latest movie. Not only that, but I am that person who keeps a movie for like 3 days because I’m too lazy to return it, which means I spend $6 on a movie that wasn’t even worth it. I’ve decided that if I ever really wanted to see a movie that wasn’t available on Hulu or Netflix, I would just spend the $6 on the Xbox Movie app because at least then I wouldn’t have to leave the house. So anyway, while I was at the store picking up ingredients for the burgers I made this weekend, I browsed Red Box and found absolutely nothing worthwhile. But since I had this FREE code, and I was THERE, I figured, hell, might as well grab something. So I rented Seventh Son. I hadn’t seen it, but remembered that it seemed like an entertaining action flick if nothing else. I love Jeff Bridges, and the kid who played the main character had adorable puppy dog eyes. That’s about all that was redeeming from this movie to me. It was a very B film and some of the dialogue and certain story elements (such as the love story between Tom and Alice) were very hard to not roll my eyes at. Even though my kid wanted to turn it off and get back to his video game, I made him sit and watch the whole thing with me, haha. And I definitely made sure to return it within the necessary timeframe to avoid a charge – in the end, the movie was free so huzzah for that!

Leave a Reply

