If you loved Myst, Get Ready for Obduction!

MystCoverIn the world of first-person shooters, hack-and-slash roleplaying games, and puzzle games with the imminent threat of death at every turn, a recent game review for Submerged peaked my interest. It is a game where you and your little brother are the only living souls around, and you have to search a deserted city for ways to save your little brother from dying. You spend your time exploring, learning about the past, and solving puzzles as you go, without the threat of running into an enemy or accidentally falling off a ledge and killing yourself. The review commented how it was a beautiful game and a breath of fresh air.

My immediate thought was, hey, this sounds like Myst of old! Granted, I love a good hack-and-slash adventure RPG (Dragon Age and Fable are some of my favorite properties), but besides Super Nintendo games like Earthbound and Super Mario Bros. World, Myst was one of the first games I really cut my teeth on. Myst, a puzzle adventure game released on PC in 1993, was actually the best-selling PC game until The Sims knocked it off its pedestal. I loved Myst, Riven and Myst III: Exile. Collecting information, piecing together clues, and trying to solve puzzles are intriguing and stimulating gameplay, in my opinion, especially when the world-building is so top notch.

Upon reading this review of Submerged, I started to wonder what had ever happened to the game developer, Cyan. Could there be any next-gen games for me to play???

Well, the first thing I found upon digging through the Internet, was Myst Online (whaaat, a Myst MMO??) There, you can explore the ages of Myst and Uru all day long if you’d like.

Next, I found something even better – a new game in the works, following much of the same feels and stylization as the beloved game of Myst: Obduction. Cyan has gone the independent route and crowdfunded their new project. The Kickstarter campaign went well – 22,195 backers pledged $1,321,306 to help bring this project to life – and based on news bits around the web, like this one from May, development is going well. Apparently, there should hopefully be a serious update at Pax Prime coming up!

I saw some of the screenshots they’ve been sharing, and from what I’ve seen, it definitely looks like it will live up to expectations. It makes me so, so happy to see a fandom come through and be so supportive, and I cannot wait to see what comes of this game.

One thought on “If you loved Myst, Get Ready for Obduction!

Add yours

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

Up ↑

